School of Engineering

Waikato Formula SAE Team

The Waikato Formula SAE team was formed in 2006. Each year the team builds an open wheeled single-seat style race car to compete in Formula SAE. Formula SAE is an international competition where students must design and build their own car. This competition involves universities from many different countries. Competitions are held in Australia, United Kingdom, Germany, USA and Japan.

In 2016 the team were placed a respectable 9th overall out of 32 teams from Australia, New Zealand, Japan and England.  They even won the main event - Endurance. Read more about the 2016 SAE-A (Australasia) competition.

Who can be involved?

The Waikato Formula SAE team not only consists of engineering students, but also involves Waikato University management and graphic design students. The team manage everything from scheduling, budgeting, fund raising to cost-control, design, sourcing equipment, materials and components, manufacturing and testing.


Entry into the competition relies heavily on the involvement and support of local automotive-related companies and the University of Waikato. The team's sponsors have included Stainless Design, Mainfreight, Waikato Bearings Ltd, Stafford Engineering Ltd, OEX, Green Frog Sign & Display, STM and Fortress Fasteners.